December Flavor Friday!

Have you ever seen a recipe that your mom, mother-in-law, or grandma makes and are super nervous to make it because nobody can EVER make it like that person can!? Well this month, I attempted Green Bean Casserole for the first time. I would consider myself a pretty good cook but this recipe made me super nervous! Number 1, I don’t even like green bean casserole so how was I suppose to taste test it if I didn’t even like it. Number 2, my mother in law makes the BEST Green Bean Casserole, at least according to my husband she does. And he is the only one who was going to eat it in my house, so who was I to argue? Number 3, my husband refuses to eat anything that isn’t name brand. So I was going to try a little taste test on him while I was trying a new recipe! So I decided to travel down the recipe road, venture out of my comfort zone and try this recipe.

The first thing I had to find was a recipe, because of course, everyone I talked to memorized their recipe. So I made up my own, by combining recipes! Check out mine below. 

The Show-Me Sisters Green Bean Casserole

2 Cans Green Beans

1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup

1/4 Cup milk ( If you want it to be thinner add more milk to your desired consistency)

Salt and Pepper to taste

1/2 tsp onion powder

1 -2 cups French Fried Onions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350.
  2. Open 2 cans of Green Beans and drain. IMG_7189
  3. Add the Green Beans to an oven safe container.
  4. Mix the milk, Cream of Mushroom Soup, onion powder, salt, and pepper. IMG_7188-0
  5. Stir together.
  6. Place in oven for 30 minutes. Take out of oven, stir, and add the onions to the top. Place back in oven for 5 minutes and enjoy!

I got a high five for this recipe! Don’t be afraid to try new recipes, even if you don’t like them yourself!

Enjoy!

-Bethany

 


  

Leave a Reply

