Happy one year of work!

That’s right, I said happy and work all in one sentence! I think we all know that Bethany is a teacher by now, but apparently I have kept my job a well kept secret! 

One year ago today, I started my job as a bookkeeper at a small town MFA Agri-Service. I left a job outside of agriculture and came running back to my passion of ag and excel sheets. Yes, people, excel sheets. 

A bookkeeper seems like a pretty self explanatory job. To a point, it is. Of course, I do most of the billing to customers and take care of all the bills that we receive. I also work the counter and answer the phones. Occasionally, I have to bite the bullet and actually load some feed. 

In addition to all that, I keep track of all the grain movement and handle all the settlements. Usually it’s a little slower in the winter, but I’m finishing up a basis trading class and have been taking care of another location’s booking while their bookkeeper is gone. 

Other than that, as the newest member of the pack, I get a lot of responsibilities that other people don’t want and those keep me busy. 

But my absolute favorite part of my job is working in a small town. When I started, memorizing names, faces and who owns what field was overwhelming. Now that I have all that down, these people have become my daily entertainment and have accepted me like I have always been here. 

Growing up, Dad always told me that you’ll never work a day in your life, if you love what you do. All through college, I stressed about what I wanted to do and what I would love to do. And after having jobs that I didn’t love, I genuinely feared that it would never happen. 

But in the past year, I have driven through snowstorms, worked late, and skipped events with my friends all to get the job done. And at the end of a year, I can say it was all worth it. 

2 thoughts on “Happy one year of work!

Leave a Reply

